National Baked Goods Day (and a mincemeat flapjack recipe)

National cup cake day passed me by.  Of course not being American, or living in America, probably explains this – in fact I wouldn’t have known at all were it not for Sameer. A day to celebrate delectable cup cakes sounds like a lovely idea, although I personally think it should be  a ‘national baked goods day’ which means I can eat and bake a whole host of amazing cakes, flapjacks and biscuits. I can’t just limit myself to cupcakes.

When I can use my christmas mixing bowl baking is even more fun.

At the weekend me and my housemate were getting into the Christmas spirit by making mince pies; true to form we jazzed up the mincemeat with some extra brandy, treacle and lots of mixed spice – just so it tasted extra christmassy. We ran out of pastry long before we had used all the mincemeat and didn’t want to make another batch so we decided to cook a mincemeat flapjack, which amazingly was enjoyed more than the mince pies by our friends. So just in case there is anyone else who misjudged the mincemeat to pastry quantities, and doesn’t want to waste time making a fiddly ‘use your extra mincemeat recipe’ here what we did (with no weights or measures).

Christmas Mincemeat Flapjacks:

  1. Take any left over mincemeat and spice it up by adding lots of brandy (a cheapish one is fine as you’ll be cooking this), a lot more mixed spice then you think is decent, a spoonful of golden treacle and a spoonful of brown sugar.
  2. Zest and juice an orange and add into the mincemeat. (If it doesn’t smell christmassy add more mixed spice and orange zest).
  3. In a large saucepan melt butter/ margarine with dark brown sugar. Stir so it doesn’t burn.
  4. When the butter is melted start adding handfuls of porridge oats and spoonfuls of the mincemeat. You will have added enough oats when most of the butter has been absorbed.
  5. Transfer into an oven proof dish and bake at about 190c for 20 minutes, until it’s bubbling but still soft. If you use a large tin and the flapjack isn’t very deep you might want to bake it for less; alternatively, if you like hard flapjack (ours was very much the eat with a spoon variety) you might want to bake it for longer.
  6. Serve with cream.
About Jefner

Hi! I'm Jen, thanks for stopping by. I hope you find some things you're interested in. I'm a compulsive day dreamer and people watcher, if I could, I would spend most of my life in a coffee shop drinking coffee, reading books, writing and people watching. I write letters, a lot, and sometimes I send vegetables in the post too. I'm a bit of an outdoor activities junkie and have kayaking and canoeing running through my blood! I like going away on adventures, exploring new places and meeting new people. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

